Early settlers named the whitebait species 'Galaxid', after the galaxy, as they thought that the spots on their backs looked like stars in the night sky.

Whitebait catch consists primarily of the young of three species: inanga, koaro and banded kokopu; inanga is by far the most commonly caught species.

Giant kokopu, short-jawed kokopu and smelt are also occasionally present in the whitebait catch along with the young of many other fish such as eels, bullies and trout.

Most whitebait species spend part of their life cycle in fresh water and part in the sea.  However, some have adapted to being landlocked in lakes and no longer have to migrate to the sea to breed e.g. dwarf inanga.


In late winter and early spring whitebait migrate back up rivers and streams, finally settling and growing in bush covered streams and swamps. The start of the migration is thought to be influenced by river flows (i.e. shortly after floods) and phases of the moon.


Mature inanga adults migrate downstream to lower river sections and estuaries to spawn in grasses covered by water during spring tides. The eggs remain in the grass until the next spring tide covers them again when the young hatch and are carried out to sea. The spawning habits of other whitebait species are not well known.


The five galaxiid species are found in many different habitats from lowland swamps to rocky streams. Their presence appears to be closely tied to overhead cover and waterside vegetation.


Giant kokopu live in swampy and heavily vegetated streams, often in pools over a mud bottom. Short-jawed kokopu, banded kokopu and koaro prefer fast flowing rocky or boulder bottomed streams with forest cover. Inanga are less "fussy" but are generally found in lower catchment waters.


One of the major problems affecting the whitebait fishery is the destruction of habitat for egg laying or adult fish. As whitebait adults tend to live in natural swamps and bush covered streams it is in the best interest of whitebaiters to ensure that adequate areas of these habitats remain.


The Department of Conservation has been active in identifying whitebait spawning habitat and arranging for its protection. Protection has involved seeking the co-operation of landowners to have spawning areas fenced off from stock. The Department sees the protection of whitebait spawning habitat as playing a major role in enhancing the lasting viability of the fishery.


Another major problem is barriers that stop young fish from getting to adult habitat.


Please note that whitebait are native fish and the giant and short-jawed kokopu are under threat in many areas!


Your assistance in keeping the whitebait fishery healthy not only benefits you, but the health of New Zealand's natural living systems. Don't take more than you need.





Far North

Coordinators: Nicki Wakefield, Kim Jones and Soozee McIntyre

The Whitebait Connection has visited schools and marae in the Far North since 2002. The area contains many unique and significant wetlands and freshwater environments, such as the Aupouri Wetlands and Lake Ohia, which was the location used in the LEARNZ Wet Feet Field Trip in 2009. The Wet Feet LEARNZ virtual learning field trip was hosted by the Department of Conservation and the Whitebait Connection. You can check it out on the LEARNZ website here.  

Click on the links below to see pictures and results from wananga held in the Far North

Te Uri O Tai Wananga July 2013 - Pawarenga

The Far North is also the birthplace of the Wet Feet Freshwater Inquiry Teaching Resource which is used in Northland WBC delivery. Much of the Whitebait Connection Inquiry Resource DVD was filmed in the Far North area with Oturu School.

A full list of Far North Schools is below.  To read more about the schools experiences and actions click on the blue link.  Schools are written in red if we have worked with them but do not have a link.

  • Ahipara School 
  • Awanui School
  • Bay of Islands 
  • Broadwood Area School  
  • Herekino School
  • Horeke School
  • Kaeo School  
  • Kaikohe Christian School 
  • Kaikohe East School
  • Kaikohe Intermediate 
  • Kaikohe West School 
  • Kaingaroa School
  • Kaitaia Abundant Life School
  • Kaitaia College
  • Kaitaia Intermediate
  • Kaitaia School
  • Karetu School
  • Kawakawa Primary School
  • Kerikeri High School 
  • Kerikeri Primary School
  • Kohukohu School 
  • Mangamuka School
  • Mangonui School
  • Maromaku School
  • Matauri Bay School
  • Matihetihe School
  • Moerewa School 
  • Motatau School
  • Ngataki School
  • Northland College
  • Ohaeawai School 
  • Okaihau College
  • Okaihau School 
  • Omanaia School
  • Opononi Area School
  • Opua School
  • Oromahoe School
  • Oruaiti School
  • Oturu School
  • Paihia School
  • Pakaraka School 
  • Pamapuria School
  • Paparore School
  • Peria School
  • Pompallier School 
  • Pukenui School (Kaitaia)
  • Pukepoto School 
  • Rawene School
  • Riverview School 
  • Russell School (Bay Of Islands)
  • Springbank School
  • Taipa Area School
  • Tautoro School
  • Te Hapua School
  • Te Kao School
  • Te Kura o Hata Maria (Pawarenga)
  • Te Kura o Hato Hohepa Te Kamura
  • Te Kura o Waikare
  • Te Kura Taumata o Panguru 
  • Te Rangi Aniwaniwa
  • Te Tii School
  • TKKM o Kaikohe
  • TKKM o Pukemiro
  • TKKM o Rangiawhia
  • TKKM o Taumarere
  • TKKM o Te Tonga o Hokianga
  • TKKM o Whangaroa
  • Totara North School
  • Umawera School
  • Waiharara School
  • Waima School
  • Whangaroa College